Skip to content

”Gone with the wind” – Margarett Mitchell

November 14, 2013

Annex - Gable, Clark (Gone With the Wind)_04

Every man in Georgia is in love with Scarlett O’Hara, but Scarlett can think of no one else but Ashley Wilkes, the handsome, intelligent, educated, perfect Southern gentleman. She will do anything to make him love her.   But as the winds of war  begin to blow, Scarlett learns that even for her, there are more important things in the world than Ashley Wilkes.  Scarlett has to use all her cleverness to stay alive.

The story of Scarlett O’Hara, Ashley Wilkes and Rhett Butler is a story of the American Civil War. But more than that: it is the greatest love story ever told.

Quotes:

  •  ” You have every other man’s heart  here today. Scarlett, isn’t that enough? Do you want mine, too? Well, you’ve always had it. ”
  • I’m going to marry Melanie,  he replied. He took her hands in his. ‘ How can I make you understand, Scarlett? Love just isn’t enough when two people are as different as we are. ‘
  • “Dear Scarlett! You aren’t helpless. Anyone as selfish and determined as you are is never helpless. God help the Yankees if they should get you.” -Rhett Butler
  • ” You, Miss, are no lady,’ Rhett Butler said. ‘But ladies rarely interest me, and I cannot understand, my dear Miss O’Hara, what a wild and hot-blooded girl like you can find to like about the handsome but very boring Mr Wilkes.”
  • “Well, my dear, take heart. Some day, I will kiss you and you will like it. But not now, so I beg you not to be too impatient.”
  • “I can’t think about that right now. If I do, I’ll go crazy. I’ll think about that tomorrow.”00/00/1939. film "Gone with the wind" (Autant en emporte le vent) By Victor Fleming
  • “After all, tomorrow is another day!”
  • “Hardships make or break people.”
  • “I wish I could care what you do or where you go but I can’t… My dear, I don’t give a damn.”
  • ”Scarlett! Stop!’ cried Ashley. ‘Don’t you realise they are men – some of them sick and weak and – oh, my dear, when I see the way he’s hardened you, you who were always so sweet- ‘ ‘-Who has hardened me?’ ‘ – ‘ Rhett Butler. Everything he touches he poisons.  I know he saved my life, and I’m grateful, but I wish it had been any man but him. And when I think of him touching you, I – ‘  – Ashley Wilkes
  •    “I’d cut up my heart for you to wear if you wanted it.”
  •      “Death, taxes and childbirth! There’s never any convenient time for any of them.”
  •      “I loved something I made up, something that’s just as dead as Melly is. I made a pretty suit of clothes and fell in love with it. And when Ashley came riding along, so handsome, so different, I put that suit on him and made him wear it whether it fitted him or not. And I wouldn’t see what he really was. I kept on loving the pretty clothes—and not him at all.” – Scarlett O’Hara movies_films_g_gone_with_the_wind_wallpaper-t2
  •   “You’re so brutal to those who love you, Scarlett. You take their love and hold it over their heads like a whip.” – Rhett Butler
  •   “Child, it’s a very bad thing for a woman to face the worst that can happen to her, because after she’s faced the worst she can’t ever really fear anything again. …Scarlett, always save something to fear— even as you save something to love…”
  • I wish to Heaven I was married,” she said resentfully as she attacked the yams with loathing. “I’m tired of everlastingly being unnatural and never doing anything I want to do. I’m tired of acting like I don’t eat more than a bird, and walking when I want to run and saying I feel faint after a waltz, when I could dance for two days and never get tired. I’m tired of saying, ‘How wonderful you are!’ to fool men who haven’t got one-half the sense I’ve got, and I’m tired of pretending I don’t know anything, so men can tell me things and feel important while they’re doing it… I can’t eat another bite.” – Scarlett O’Hara
  • ” I’ll always remember you as you were on that day at Twelve Oaks, ‘ he said. ‘You were wearing a white dress covered with little green flowers, sitting under a tree with a dozen boys round you,’ He dropped her hands, and the light went out of his eyes. ‘ We’ve come a long way since then, Scarlett. You’ve come straight and quick, but I’ve come slowly. And without you, and all you’ve done for me, I’d be nothing now. ” – Ashley Wilkes
  • ” I’m sorry for you, my pretty little fool, ‘ he told her. ‘If  I was dead, and Miss Melanie was dead and you had Ashley, do you think you could be happy with him? Hell, no ! You would never know what he was thinking about. You would never understand his books or his music. But we, my dear wife, understand each other. I loved you, and I know you – and I want you ! ‘ Suddenly, he lifted her off her feet and into his arms, and began to climb the stairs. ‘And this is one night you will not turn me out of your room!” – Rhett Butler    
3 Comments leave one →
  1. ანუკა)) permalink
    November 14, 2013 7:35 pm

    ვგიჟდები, ძალიან, ძალიან მიყვარს … არ შემიძლია ავწერო როგორ

Trackbacks

  1. Gone with the Wind

Leave a Reply

